Trippier Decries Harsh Penalty Awarded For PSG Against Newcastle
Newcastle United defender Kieran Trippier insists referee Szymon Marcimiak was wrong to award Paris Saint Germain a late penalty in their Champions League encounter on Tuesday.
The Magpies were denied a priceless victory at the Parc Des Princes as Kylian Mbappe converted in second half stoppage time to cancel out Alexander Isak's first half effort.
Tino Livramento was the fall guy for Newcastle United as Ousmane Dembele's cross deflected onto his hand for VAR to intervene in awarding the penalty.
Like many others, Trippier feels the decision was not the right one, which has affected Newcastle's chances of making the knockout rounds.
Eddie Howe's side will have to win their final group game against AC Milan, and hope PSG do not win away at already-qualfied Borussia Dortmund, to have any chance of progressing.
Trippier said: “It is disappointing, but we have to move on. I just try to enjoy football, but I am tired of discussing these matters, whether good or bad.
“Nothing can change it. The referee had the chance to go to the monitor, which he did, so I don’t understand it. From my point of view, it has come off his chest and onto his arm.
“I don’t understand what his decision was, even after the game. We tried to ask him. But we just have to move on and take it on the chin.”
“Tino is fine,” Trippier said of the 21-year-old Livramento.
“He is a strong kid who had an unbelievable game again.
“It is one of those where everybody knows it wasn’t a penalty. Of course it is disappointing because it was him in that moment. We said, ‘Listen it wasn’t a penalty, so get it out of your head’.”