Jude Bellingham Wins 2023 Golden Boy Award

Real Madrid and England midfielder Jude Bellingham has won the Golden Boy award for 2023.

Nov 18, 2023 - 07:12
Dec 4, 2023 - 09:19
 0  102
Jude Bellingham Wins 2023 Golden Boy Award
Bellingham celebrates a Real Madrid goal.

The award is given to the best u-21 player in the top European leagues each year.

Bellingham also recently won the Kopa Trophy as the world's best u-21 player at the Ballon D'or awards ceremony last month.

The 20-year-old has performed admiringly for club and country over the last year.

Bellingham helped England reach the FIFA World Cup quarterfinals in Qatar last year and was voted the Bundesliga's player of the season before securing a big-money move to Real Madrid in the off season.

The former Birmingham City man has scored 13 goals and provided three assists in 14 appearances so far for Real Madrid this season.

He is the third Englishman to win the Golden Boy award after Wayne Rooney in 2004 and Raheem Sterling in 2014.

"Now I have this beautiful award I will strive for more," Bellingham said in a short video message.

"I want to keep pushing the limits of my potential and hopefully many more trophies to come. I'd like to thank everyone who has been part of my journey so far at Birmingham [City], [Borussia] Dortmund and now Madrid. It wouldn't be possible without them.

"Lastly and most importantly my family who give me the support and motivation and love every day to keep striving."

Other notable past winners of the Golden Boy award include Lionel Messi, Mario Balotelli, Erling Haaland and Kylian Mbappe.